Collaborative research on a wide range of diseases in PNG

PNGIMR Council

The Papua New Guinea Institute of Medical Research is governed by a 7-member Council appointed by the National Executive Council under the terms of the Institute of Medical Research Act and its amendments. Members include the Secretary of the National Department of Health, the National AIDS Council Secretariat, representatives of Papua New Guinea universities and medical schools and national health and medical leaders. The Director and Deputy Directors are ex-officio members.

The Council meets quarterly to provide oversight and advice on the institute’s operations and strategic direction.

In 2024 the Council members are:

Council Chairman Professor Sir Isi Kevau

University of Papua New Guinea (UPNG) School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS)

Professor William Pomat

PNGIMR Director

Professor Nakapi Tefuarani

Dean of School of Medicine and
Health Science, UPNG

Mr Tony Lupiwa

Proxy member to Dr Nick Dala

Dr Moses Laman

PNGIMR Deputy Director

Professor Frank Griffin

Vice Chancellor of University of
Papua New Guinea

Resigned January 2024

Dr Nick Dala

National AIDS Council Secretariat

Dr Osborne Liko

Health Secretary, National Department of Health